Orange Bowl Fun Facts


The first Orange Bowl was played in 1935 between the University of Miami and Manhattan College. To save money, the Manhattan College team took a three-day boat ride to Miami.

Irvine "Cotton" Warburton is the only member of the College Football Hall of Fame to receive an Academy Award. He won for his film editing work on 1964s Mary Poppins.

Chief Osceola, the Florida State mascot who rides out and plants a flaming spear at midfield before each home game, has been approved by Florida's Seminole Indian Tribe.

In the 1940s, college bowl games included the Raisin Bowl, Salad Bowl and Oil Bowl.

Michigan holds the record for the most Orange Bowl appearances (31).

During the 1990s, Prairie View College put together an 80-game losing streak. One season, they were outscored each game by an average margin of 56 to 4.

The Oklahoma Sooners hold the record for the longest winning streak in college football. The streak lasted 47 games, from 1954 until 1957.

The most laterals in a game (8) came during the Michigan Wolverines' final play of the Alamo Bowl in 2005.

Before every home game, flowers are placed at the graves of every former Uga (the English Bulldog mascot of Georgia).

The forward pass first appeared in college football in 1906. It was introduced in an attempt to increase scoring and reduce injuries.

Since they began playing college football in 1879, the University of Michigan Wolverines have won more games than any other team.

Yale has won more National Championship (18) than any other college football team. Their last title came in 1927.

The first college football game took place in 1869 between Princeton and Rutgers University. Each team had 25 players on the field, and no forward passing was allowed. Rutgers won by a score of 6 to 4.

The LSU mascot, Mike the Tiger, is kept in a pen in the back of the stadium. Before home games, he's placed in a cage and moved near the visiting team's locker room, so that opposing players must pass by him on the way to the field.